release the shutter, now repeat.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted

Distorted

45 responses

  1. that’s one photo that needs a lot of looking at – great distortion. Can’t work out what it is though, expect once I know I will say “of course!” :-)

    March 5, 2012 at 9:43 pm

  2. Michael Fishman

    A very cool picture! Depending on which way I look at it it looks different. Is it a tooth?

    March 5, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    • It is so funny that you should say that… it is not a tooth although it was titled “Wisdom” (after the tooth) when I sculpted it. It is an alabaster sculpture.

      March 5, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    • Thank you, I enjoyed yours too.

      March 6, 2012 at 2:25 am

  3. I always skip to the comments while i wait for the photos to load and i must say wheni saw the photo, i agree with the tooth guess haha

    Next guess is shadow cast over something, just dunno what. A puzzle! :)

    March 6, 2012 at 3:25 am

    • It is a sculpture… thanks for stopping by and puzzling :)

      March 8, 2012 at 11:25 pm

  4. Op!

    black and white with shadow playing are always a favorite theme for me, and here you captured it beautifully. is that your own sculpture? wow, you are a very artistic and creative person :)
    thanks for stopping by at my site!

    March 6, 2012 at 4:58 am

    • thanks, yes it is my sculpture.

      thanks for dropping by!

      March 6, 2012 at 5:58 am

  5. Hey, this is great.. I like black and white.. and I love your picture :)

    March 6, 2012 at 7:53 am

    • thanks, i liked yours too.

      March 6, 2012 at 8:01 am

  6. very cool… :)

    March 6, 2012 at 10:51 am

    • Thanks, I liked your pic too.

      March 7, 2012 at 1:29 am

      • :)

        March 7, 2012 at 11:10 am

  7. It looked like a tooth, then a chair. Perfect distortion! Love it.

    March 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    • Thank you, I enjoyed yours as well.

      March 7, 2012 at 1:23 am

  8. jbheronneau

    Excellent entry!
    I love the shade and the B&W effect…
    Congratulation

    March 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    • thank you… i enjoyed yours as well.

      March 7, 2012 at 10:44 pm

  9. Ahhh…It’s a sculpture…I was going to ask if it was a distorted image of a fist looking downwards the arm and shooting it (and distorting it) from the wrist. It’s funny how we all see things so differently :-) Very beautiful too, Imogen :-)

    March 7, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    • So true… I’ve had many guesses as to what it is.

      Thanks for dropping by. beebles.

      March 7, 2012 at 10:51 pm

  10. great photo – i though it might be bright window light on the floor? it looks like you have created quite a discussion though, that is good.

    March 8, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    • ty, I really enjoyed your bridge shot.

      March 8, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  11. Wow, THIS is a gorgeous picture on the topic. Kudos :-)

    March 8, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    • I really enjoyed yours as well.

      March 8, 2012 at 7:22 pm

  12. Distorted has been a great word for a photo challenge, hasn’t it!?

    March 8, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    • Yes it has, lots of wonderful photos. Thanks for stopping by.

      March 8, 2012 at 8:18 pm

  13. I can see the tooth, but the first thing i thought it was, was the top portion of a dress. Marilyn Monroe like…

    March 8, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    • It’s an alabaster sculpture that I made years ago (in the shape of… well, nothing). Interesting and a first about the dress…. I can see it.

      March 9, 2012 at 1:48 am

  14. Nando

    I stopped by to see your interpretation of distorted and opted to really look at this photo before reading any comments. Stumped, I scrolled down to see it was a sculpture. Brilliant. You are doubly gifted as an artist! The photograph was excellently taken. Good job.

    BTW, never new that the string that holds shirt buttons is called beebles! If I ever win a million dollars because the answer to the question was beebles, I’ll throw you a load of cash!

    March 9, 2012 at 2:17 am

    • I’m gonna hold you to that…

      I liked that you really couldn’t tell what the thing was and instead of pointing it out, I just let people ponder on it for a while.

      March 9, 2012 at 3:12 am

  15. beautifully captured. I even can’t imagine what picture is that…I’m really distorted

    March 9, 2012 at 6:30 am

    • Tyvm…I enjoyed yours too. Very neat and beautiful too.

      March 9, 2012 at 8:21 am

  16. Ooooh very nice…what is it (and as I typed that I felt a little bit like Homer Simpson!)?

    Thanks for dropping by the blog! :)

    March 9, 2012 at 8:30 am

    • lol it’s a sculpture that i made several years ago and I just happened to catch a good shot of it.

      I enjoyed yours too, come back again.

      March 9, 2012 at 8:38 am

  17. Great lighting and shadow. Very well done.

    March 9, 2012 at 11:16 am

  18. I’m glad that you revealed the “true identity’ of the distorted image. I like the sculpture very much and the title “Wisdom” seems so right for it. I connect alabaster with the ancient and the spiritual; and you’ve made a hard substance appear fluid. Some of the wisest people I know are just like that sculpture –solid, formidable, enduring, yet so in the flow of life.

    March 9, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    • I can not take credit for the title, that belongs with my parents that thought it looked like a wisdom tooth from certain angles. Alabaster is a fun but messy medium and I would love to take another stab at it :)

      March 9, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  19. Absolutely adore the shape, form and shadowing of this. Beautiful!

    March 9, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    • Thank you. I liked your crystal glass photos, you have a great eye.

      March 10, 2012 at 1:46 am

  20. Ash

    Beautiful interpretation of the theme! Looks like a flowing cloth or a gloved fist. Can’t decide which one though :)

    March 11, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Leave a Reply

